Friday, November 18, 2016

Co Curricular Presentation Evening

Co Curricular Presentation Night was , as per usual, a very entertaining evening.  Blackthorn Hall was crowded with students, staff and parents all eager to see which individual students and which sporting houses took out the honours for 2016.
Compare, Mr Andy Fildes, began the evening with a welcome video prepared by the students. After the Junior School concert band performed Dragon Dance and Power Rock,  Madison Armstrong and Evan Hill-Warner gave a report highlighting the performances from Junior School students throughout the year.
Head of Junior School , Mrs Hannah Ferguson presented medallions to the Age Champions from Swimming, Cross Country and Athletics. Best and Fairest Awards were also presented for team sports of Touch, Netball, Softball and Cricket.
Principal Mr Nigel Fairbairn, presented Ainslie Thompson an award for Sportswoman of the Year and Evan Hill-Warner an award for Sportsman of the Year.
The winner of the Ann Millican Trophy for Primary Girls Aggregate was Bacon, while the winner of the T.Ross McKenzie shield was Dickson.
The Junior School section was finished with an entertaining “Big Marn” video session with some of the Junior students and the unveiling of the College mascot- Bluey

Guest speaker. Ms Heather Ballinger gave an insight into her story and experiences on her journey to become a Jillaroo ( the Australian Women's Rugby League Team) Heather had an interseting story and her interviewer, Ms Hopley had a few slides to show
BTC 2016 Sport Captain , Jack McQueen gave his final report, summing up the sporting achievements of 2016, before Mr Brian Beveridge presented the Age Champions  for Swimming, Cross Country and Athletics  and Best and Fairest for Tennis, Netball, Softball , Rugby League, Touch and Cricket.
The BTC Secondary Choir then performed Fire and Flood and Hallelujah before the video compilation of Semester 1 Sports was shown.

The House Awards were the presented.
 Swimming:- Presented by Mr Bowden
Shepard Cup ( for all relays for swimming and athletics- Bryce
Tavasci Cup( champion house for all breaststroke events)- Archie
Robins Cup ( for overall aggregate)- Bryce
Alice Beale Perpetual Shield for Swimming- Angelah Corrigan

Dot Nibbs Trophy-( Senior boys)- Dickson
Aggregate Shield- (overall points)- Bacon

Tennis  - Presented by Mr Innes
H.M. Clarke Cup- Bacon girls.
A.U.F. Industries Trophy- Dickson boys.

Cricket- Presented by Mr Bowden
Knuth Cup- Dickson
David Ross Trophy ( most useful cricketer)- Mitch Fogarty

Cross Country  Presented by Ms Katrina Aitchison
McQueen Cup- Bryce
Past Students Association Cup- Black

For a break in the Award presentation the assembly was treated to the QISSN Netball video followed by the Rugby League Confraternity video.

House Awards then continued
Mrs Marian Cerqui then presented the H.M.Clark Cup for Interhouse Netball to Bryce.

Rugby League:
Mr Max  Batt presented the:- Aaron Campbell Memorial Shield (Juniors) to both Black and Bacon.
                                   :- Willmott Cup (Seniors) to Dickson.

Brodie Land and Damien Bige made a presentation to rugby league coaches and managers- Mr O'Rourke, Mr Bowden and Mr Batt. 

Soccer: Presented by Mr Tim  O'Rourke
J&M Worsfold Interhouse Soccer Cup- Bryce
Feirclough Family Shield- Dixon

Athletics: Mrs Shiralee Critchley
D.K.Beneke Trophy- ( Girls most individual points)  Tie  Jessee Santo and Kelsey Jones.
Nocoleche Cup (  Girls field events)- Bryce
Rossiter Cup ( Girls track events)- Bryce
D &D Hardie Trophy( Girls overall aggregate)- Bryce

Jos Allingham Trophy(Boys most individual points)- Louie Johnstone
P&F Aggregate Cup(Boys overall points)-  Black

The Secondary School Band performed Love Me , Don't Cry For Me Argentina and Game of Thrones
After the Semester 2  Sports video,  further awards were presented.

Music:   Presented by Ms Alyssa Priddle

Yrs 7-10
Most Improved Performer- Ben Winkless
Most Talented Performer- Braithen Knox


Most Improved Performer- Evelyn Coleman
Most Talented Performer- Selai Mautaia

Robertson Family Memorial Prize ( most promising musician)- Amy Neville

Debating:   After a report by Kate McCullough,  Mrs Erika Donaldson presented the awards
Alice Patterson Memorial Prize (Junior debating)- Kate McCullough
Doug Patterson Memorial Prize ( Senior debating)- Georgie Taylor

Cultural Awards: Presented by Mrs Jillian Schulz
Pat Lee Bursary (cultural achievement)-Amy Neville
Beaty Landsberg Memorial Prize(musical achievement)- Catherine Weicks

BTC 2016 Arts Captain, Amber Connolly gave her report and Ashlee Walsh gave the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award report. 2016 outgoing Blackthorn Interact President, Evelyn Coleman, gave her report before Mr Fairbairn presented half -colours to Interact members.

After the combined D of E, Arts and Interact video, the Undefeated Premiership Teams were recognised and awarded their pennants. these teams were :- U15 Rugby League , U15 Girls Tennis and 1sts Softball.  Mention was made of our undefeated Rugby Tenz teams- U 15 Boys, Open Girls.

 The Premiership winning teams were also recognised with a pennant:- U 15 Netball, U12 Boys Tennis, 2nds Softball

The final videos for the evening were the House Challenge videos, where the Houses needed to works as a House to show what is great and special about their respective Houses.

All Sports Certificates were awarded to the students who had competed in all sports throughout the year. 

Finally was the announcement about Champion Houses overall and  the Sportsman and Sportswoman Awards presented by Mr Harry Jackson and Mr Fergus Tait.

Junior Sportswoman of the Year;- Olivia Miller
Junior Sportsman of the year:- Joshua Abbott

H&D Jackson Shield ( College Sportswoman of the Year)- Jessee Santo
AA Tait Shield ( College Sportsman of the Year)- Mitch Fogarty

Champion Houses:
Norman Powell Memorial Shield (Girls Junior House)  Tie Archie and Bryce
Anning Shield (Boys Junior House) - Black
J.E.Bullow Memorial Shield (Girls Senior House)-  Bryce
Daking Smith  Shield(Boys Senior House) Dickson

Principal Mr Fairbairn, presented the final trophies:

Lily McMaster Shield-  Girls Champion House- Bryce.
Logan Shield- Boys Champion House- Dickson.

The Year 12 students led the College in the Blackthorn War Cry to conclude the evening.