Sunday, February 28, 2010

Secondary Interschool Swimming

Students from the four Secondary Schools packed the Town Pool for the Interschool Secondary Swimming Carnival on Thursday and Friday nights. Supporters for BTC looked great decked out in their blue and the war cries and cheering were inspirational. There were great performances in the pool as well.While ALL efforts are to be applauded ,there were some very close epic battles which brought the crowd to their feet. None better than the 16 yrs and Open Boys Relay teams with the judges once giving a tie due to the closeness of the finish. In the last event of the night the Open Girls brought the crowd to their feet with their fantastic win over CCC. A mammoth effort girls and one to be very proud of. The BTC girls came 3rd in their Aggregate Trophy while the Boys won their Aggregate Trophy. BTC was pipped by 1 point for the Boys Relay Trophy. Overall BTC came a gallant 2nd. Age Champions were Maddie Fox (tie 14yrs) Jane Wallace (15 yrs) Thomas Polkinghorne (13 yrs)-with Darcey Ginns-Larkin hot on his heels, Doug Rayment (15yrs) Callum Smith (16yrs). Congratulations to the entire BTC swim team and thanks to Mr Gilbert for coaching them.

Primary Netball

After cancellations due to weather, the BTC girls finally had their first Interschool netball games. The BTC team played Millchester School and were 5-0 down at half- time. The girls rallied and played some good netball, improving in every quarter to score 3 points to the oppositions 1 point in the second half of the game. Final score was 6-3 . Congratulations to the girls for a great team spirit.Thanks to Mrs Cerqui for coaching us.

Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Athlete Awarded

Year Seven student, Lilyana Rayment, recently flew to Brisbane to be awarded with the Future State Greats Athletics Award which was sponsored by Queensland School Sport. Last year Lilyana was involved in touch football, rugby league and swimming at a representative level. After being nominated by her school in Winton she had to write a letter outlining her achievements and future aspirations. The judges were impressed and subsequently Lilyana received an award and a cheque for $500 which were presented to her by Ian Healy. Congratulations on your award Lily.

Friday, February 12, 2010

College Leaders Induction at BTC

With the dark clouds gathering and possibility of an afternoon storm, the Induction of the College leaders was moved into the Assembly Hall. After being greeted by College Principal ,Mr Brian Hewitt, and singing the hymns, the Senior Leaders were introduced by Mr Nairn-:
College Captains: Jarrah Aitchison and Zac Santo
Vice Captains & Junior School Liaison: Alison Jacka and Jake Peno
Captain of Cultural: Caitlin Bethel
Captain of Service: Katelyn Pilcher
Captain of Sport: Bridget Tully and Digby Doyle
Residential Captains: Meryn Dunn and Darcy Campbell
Captain of Vocal Music: Hayley Christensen
Captain of Instrumental Music: Nicola Slaney
Prefects: Carla Cairns, Emma Evert, Laura-Jane Gill, Sarita Goldsworthy, Dylan Jackson, Dudley Leggett, Virginia Lennox, Ellie Rea, Joshua Robins, Marc Soucelier, Daniel Tuiqali
Dormitory Seniors: David Batt, Makhaim Brandon, Robert Dawson, Aaron Jones, Andrew Nordling, Richard Pascoe
Day Seniors: Jose DeLuque, Christopher Hammer, Matthew Wallace
The Primary School leaders were announced by Mrs Black.
Primary School Captains: Casey Henry, Katherine Williams
Vice-Captains: Sport: Madison Smith and Daniel Simatis
Cultural: Jessica Blakey and Bailey Millett
Service: Lilyana Rayment
Primary Monitors:
Jessee Miller, Sean Bawden, Michaela Dunnet, Alexandria Smith, Jacob Thomson, Kimba Gill.
After the leaders had their respective badges pinned on and the pledging of the Leaders Oath, the Choir entertained the assembly before leaders and guests enjoyed afternoon tea on the verandah of Thornburgh House. Congratulations to all leaders at BTC for 2010.