Saturday, November 18, 2017

Co Curricular Evening

Co Curricular Presentation Night was held recently at Blackthorn Hall. It was great to see so many people attend the evening with the hall crowded with students, staff and parents all eager to see which individual students and which sporting houses took out the honours for 2017.
Compare, Mr Andy Fildes, began the evening with a welcome video prepared by the students. After the Junior School concert band performed their musical item , Junior Sports Captain, Gemma Neville   gave a report highlighting the performances from Junior School students throughout the year.  There was a video highlighting the students sporting year before Head of Junior School , Mrs Hannah Ferguson presented medallions to the Age Champions from Swimming, Cross Country and Athletics. Best and Fairest Awards were also presented for team sports of Touch, Netball, Softball and Cricket.
Principal Mr Nigel Fairbairn, presented Ainslie Thompson the  award for Junior Sportswoman of the Year and Juke Ferguson the award for  Junior Sportsman of the Year. 
The winner of the Ann Millican Trophy for Primary Girls Aggregate was Bryce, while the winner of the T.Ross McKenzie shield was Bacon.

Guest speaker,  2011 Thornburgh Captain and Warriors NRL player Zac Santo, gave an inspiring speech about finding that inner resolve to work through not just the good times but the challenges as well that life will present. 
BTC 2017 Sport Captain , Jessee Santo gave her final report, summing up the sporting achievements of 2017, before Chairmen of the Board, Mr  Chris Hesp presented the Age Champions  for Swimming, Cross Country and Athletics  and Best and Fairest for Tennis, Netball, Softball , Rugby League, Touch and Cricket.
The BTC Secondary Choir then performed Jurassic Park and Thriller before the video compilation of Semester 1 Sports was shown.

The House Awards were the presented.
 Swimming:- Presented by Mr Bowden
Shepard Cup ( for all relays for swimming and athletics- Archie
Tavasci Cup( champion house for all breaststroke events)- Archie
Robins Cup ( for overall aggregate)- Archie
Alice Beale Perpetual Shield for Swimming- Angeleah Corrigan

Dot Nibbs Trophy-( Senior boys)- Bacon
Aggregate Shield- (overall points)- Black

Tennis  - Presented by Mr Innes
H.M. Clarke Cup- Bryce girls.
A.U.F. Industries Trophy- Dickson boys.

Mrs Marian Cerqui then presented the John Andrews Shield for Interhouse Softball to Bryce.

Cricket- Presented by Mr Bowden
Knuth Cup- Black
David Ross Trophy ( most useful cricketer)- Mitch Fogarty

Cross Country  Presented by Ms Katrina Aitchison
McQueen Cup- Archie
Past Students Association Cup- Black

For a break in the Award presentation, the assembly was treated  to the Rugby League Confraternity video.

House Awards then continued

Rugby League:
Mr Max  Batt presented the:- Aaron Campbell Memorial Shield (Juniors) to both Black.
                                   :- Willmott Cup (Seniors) to Dickson.

Allen Rau and Mitch Fogarty made a presentation to rugby league coaches and managers- Mr Fildes, Mr Bowden and Mr Batt. 

Soccer: Presented by Ms Shari James
J and M Worsfold Interhouse Soccer Cup- Bryce
Fairclough Family Shield- Dickson

Athletics: Mrs Shiralee Critchley
D.K.Beneke Trophy- ( Girls most individual points)  Kelsey Jones.
Nocoleche Cup (  Girls field events)- Bacon
Rossiter Cup ( Girls track events)- Archie
D and D Hardie Trophy( Girls overall aggregate)- Archie

Jos Allingham Trophy(Boys most individual points)- Darby Butler
P and F Aggregate Cup(Boys overall points)-  Black
 There was a video presentation from the girls QISSN Netball Carnival before the Secondary School Band performed Pirates of the Caribbean.

After the Semester 2  Sports video,  further awards were presented.

Music:   Presented by Ms Alyssa Priddle

Yrs 7-10
Most Improved Performer- Liam Brown
Most Talented Performer- Olivia Miller


Most Improved Performer- India Aitchison
Most Talented Performer- Elissa Harrison

Robertson Family Memorial Prize ( most promising musician)- Kassity Knox

Debating:   After a report by Kathryn Fisher,  Mrs Erika Donaldson presented the awards
Alice Patterson Memorial Prize (Junior debating)- Kathryn Fisher
Doug Patterson Memorial Prize ( Senior debating)- Kate McCullough

The BTC Rock Band presented a musical item before continuing with the awards.

Cultural Awards: Presented by Mrs Jillian Schulz
Pat Lee Bursary (cultural achievement)- Kassity Knox
Beaty Landsberg Memorial Prize(musical achievement)- Evelyn Coleman

BTC 2017 Arts Captain, Kassity Knox gave her report  followed by a video presentation  from the Performing Arts. India Aitchison  gave the Duke of Edinburgh's International Award report and 2017 Blackthorn Interact President gave the Interact report, before a short D of E video was shown.

 Mr Fairbairn then presented half-colours and full colours  for Semester Two to the recipients before the Undefeated Premiership Teams were recognised and awarded their pennants. these teams were :- Girls 14 Netball , Girls Seconds Softball,  Girls Firsts Tennis and  Girls Firsts Softball ( for 4 Years running!) .......Go Girls!

 The Premiership winning teams were also recognised with a pennant:-  Girls 13 Softball, Girls 14 Tennis, Girls 14 Softball, Girls Seconds Netball Girls First Netball,  Boys First Cricket and Boys First Rugby League.

The Street Talk  2017 video was then viewed  before  the All Sports Certificates were awarded to the students who had competed in all sports throughout the year.

The final videos of the evening, The House Challenge , were shown.

Finally was the announcement about Champion Houses overall and  the Sportsman and Sportswoman Awards presented by Mr Harry Jackson.

Junior Sportswoman of the Year:- Kathryn Fisher
Junior Sportsman of the year:- Darby Butler

H and D Jackson Shield ( College Sportswoman of the Year)- Jessee Santo
AA Tait Shield ( College Sportsman of the Year)- Mitch Fogarty

Champion Houses:
Norman Powell Memorial Shield (Girls Junior House)  Archie 
Anning Shield (Boys Junior House) - Black
J.E.Bullow Memorial Shield (Girls Senior House)-  Archie
Daking Smith  Shield(Boys Senior House) Black

Principal Mr Fairbairn, presented the final trophies:

Lily McMaster Shield-  Girls Champion House- Archie House
Logan Shield- Boys Champion House- Black House

The Year 12 students led the College in the Blackthorn War Cry to conclude the evening.